Nephrology, Hypertension & Pheresis | What's New

Brian Stotter, MD was appointed to the American Academy of Pediatrics PREP Nephrology Editorial Board for a 3-year term, beginning in July 2020.


St. Louis Children’s modified aquapheresis (Aquadex) program, led by Eileen Ciccia, MD, went live on July 15, 2020.


Vikas Dharnidharka, MD, MPH has been named the Vice Chair of Clinical Investigation for the Department of Pediatrics, effective August 1, 2020.


Eileen Ciccia, MD presented Chronic Kidney Disease at Early Bird Rounds in January 2020.

Carmen Halabi, MD, PhD received the F. Sessions Cole, M.D. Award in Excellence 2018.  Carmen won in the category of “Outstanding Contributions to the Inpatient Clinical Care Services of SLCH and WUSM”.

Vikas Dharnidharka, MD, MPH presented “The Balancing Act: Minimizing Post-Transplant Viral Infections and Acute Rejection,” an invited lecture in March 2019 at the 46th Miami Pediatric Nephrology Seminar in Miami, FL.

Keith Hruska received a research grant from Regeneron,“Mechanisms in Heart Failure in CKD.”

Vikas Dharnidharka, MD, MPH gave a visiting professor lecture in April 2019 at Robert Wood Johnson Medical School at Rutgers University, in New Brunswick, NJ. The title of his lecture was “Post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorders: how a rare disease can teach us about infections, cancer, genomics and immunology.”

Vikas Dharnidharka, MD was an invited speaker at KidneyCon 2019 in Little Rock, AK. The title of his presentation was “Non-adherence in pediatric kidney transplant - Practical strategies for the pediatric and adult nephrologist.”

Kevin Barton, MD and fellow Raja Dandamudi’s “Successful Reduction of Plasma Free-Hemoglobin Using Therapeutic Plasma Exchange in a Neonate:  A Case Report” was accepted for poster presentation at the ASFA 2019 Annual Meeting in Portland, OR.

Carmen Halabi, MD, PhD was invited to present at the 2019 Elastin, Elastic Fibers and Micro fibrils Gordon Research Conference in Manchester, NH in July 2019.  Her talk was titled “Contributions of fibulin-4 and lysyl oxidase to large versus small vessel wall integrity.” 

Paul Hmiel, MD, PhD celebrated 25 years of service to the Washington University School of Medicine. He was also awarded the 2019 Robert Strunk, MD “Master Clinician Award in Clinical Excellence for “Outstanding Contributions to the Outpatient Clinical Services of SLCH and WUSM”.

The 2019 NAPRTCS annual meeting and fall 2019 meeting of the Pediatric Nephrology Research Consortium (PNRC) were held back-to-back in St. Louis and hosted by Washington University in St. Louis. Faculty member Kevin Barton, MD and fellow Raja Dandamudi, MD had special study proposals that were accepted by NAPRTCS and awarded funding, and the results of these studies were presented at the 2019 NAPRTCS annual meeting. The title of Dr. Barton’s talk was “Risk factors for late acute rejection after pediatric kidney transplantation.” Dr. Dandamudi’s talk was titled “Impact of dialysis adequacy on morbidity in children on chronic hemodialysis: a North American Pediatric Renal Trials and Collaborative Studies (NAPRTCS) report.”

Kira Geile, PNP, was awarded the Washington University Pediatric Department’s “2019 Unsung Heroes Award”.  This is an annual award recognizing the exceptional contribution of an individual.

Vikas Dharnidharka, MD, MPH was invited to present at the 2019 International Pediatric Nephrology Association (IPNA) Congress held in Venice, Italy.  The title of his presentation was “Complications of renal transplantation – tumors.”


© 2020 by Washington University in St. Louis
One Brookings Drive, St. Louis, MO 63130